Shredded Veggie Burgers

Standard

Of all the meat-derived foods I’ve been repulsed by over the years, your all-American hamburger topped my list of foods I NEVER wanted to eat.  The flavor, texture and thought of ground up cows being smushed into a carnivorous mess made me sick to my stomach.  I wouldn’t even touch a turkey burger just by association.

So last week, after attempting one of my first vegetarian trips out to a restaurant, I quickly learned I was completely limited to what was available on most local menus.  And so, I was compelled to try my first veggie burger, and…WOW.  I couldn’t believe what I’d been missing!  I immediately researched a recipe for my new found addiction and the result is not only a wallet-friendly meal but one packed with JUST veggies and not your typical beans like our own version that we’ve spotlighted before.

1 small onion, shredded

1 summer squash, peeled and shredded

1 zucchini, peeled and shredded

2 carrots, peeled and shredded

2 gloves garlic, minced

1 ½ cups bread crumbs OR rolled oats

1 egg

1/3 cup cheddar cheese

Salt & pepper to taste

Olive oil for frying

  • After shredding, cook onion and garlic on medium heat in olive oil for about 5 minutes.
  • After 5 minutes, add in the squash, carrots and zucchini and cook for an additional 7 minutes or until vegetables begin browning.
  • Remove from heat and put in bowl (you may want to try and drain any excess juice at this point), then mix with egg , cheese and breadcrumbs
  • Refrigerate mixture for at least one hour
  • After 1 hour, mold mixture into hamburger size patties (a little smaller than the size of your palm) and cook on both sides in olive oil on medium/high heat until they are golden brown.
About Lisa

*Lisa is the founder and personal chef of The Vegan Pact and blogger at TheVeganPact.com. Her passion for vegan food is shown through her daily recipe blog, private meal deliveries and cooking classes in the Boston area.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Chickpea, Green Onion & Spinach Patties « The vegetarian pact's Blog

  2. Pingback: Vegetarian Recap: 7 Months Later… « The vegetarian pact's Blog

    • never been to culver city and i dont know what the counter burger is, but this is a pretty basic recipe for a vegetable-based burger rather than a grain or bean=based one!

Leave a Reply

