Kale & Chive Red Mashed Potatoes

Standard

Mmmmm….mashed potatoes.

Far from a summer recipe, but I can (unfortunately) sense the weather shifting into fall mode, which means I’m embarking on my first full winter season as a vegetarian.  I foresee a lot of warming, comfort foods in my future, so in order to avoid too many unnecessary carbs, I’m going to TRY to add as many healthy veggies into the dishes I come up with for the colder weather.

I’ve made mashed potatoes many times before, but never with the awesome mixer I got last Christmas (thanks to my brother Eddie), and never with chives (thanks to my co-worker Brenda for donating a chive plant to my growing herb collection).  These mashed taters are absolutely perfect!

(our back porch ghetto garden)

6 large red potatoes, quartered (about 8 cups)

3 cups fresh kale, chopped

1/2 cup fresh chives, chopped

1/2 cup cream

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, shredded

1/2 cup onions, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp olive oil

1/4 sea salt

1/4 black pepper

  • Bring a pot of water with potatoes in it, to a boil and boil for 30 minutes or until fork tender
  • Remove from heat and strain, then pour in a large bowl
  • Add kale, 1/4 cup cream,olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper into the bowl
  • Using the mixer, blend potato mixture on low/medium until creamy, but semi-chunky
  • Add the remaining cream and cheese and mix for another 2 minutes
  • Remove from mixer, then stir in chives and onions until well blended and creamy

About Lisa

*Lisa is the founder and personal chef of The Vegan Pact and blogger at TheVeganPact.com. Her passion for vegan food is shown through her daily recipe blog, private meal deliveries and cooking classes in the Boston area.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Lazy Lasagna with Spinach and Fresh Tomato & Herb Sauce « The Vegetarian Pact's Blog

  2. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recap « The Vegetarian Pact's Blog

Leave a Reply

