Spinach, Pistachio & Cranberry Quesadillas

Standard

This sounds like a strange combo, doesn’t? Well who cares, because it’s delicious!

You know me, I love a sweet and salty mix and this quesadilla is a prime example of how combining the two makes for a delicious meal.

I wish I could take full credit for this one. It’s pure genius and I’d be pretty proud if I came up with it on my own. But alas, this recipe stemmed from “That Was Vegan?”, which is easily becoming one of my favorite blogs. I stumble upon it when Daiya featured one of our recipes in their monthly round-up of favorite recipes and this one was highlighted along with our Cheezy Baked Rigatoni. Arikka had just recently gotten me completely addicted to pistachios, but I was clueless as to what to use them in for a dish. So instead of devouring an entire bag as a snack, I threw them in this quesadilla and let the yumminess follow 🙂

4 whole wheat tortillas

6 ounces Daiya jack cheese, sliced

2 cups baby spinach

3/4 cup dried cranberries

3/4 cup shelled pistachios

1/2 cup green onions

1/4 tsp black pepper

  • Mix together cranberries, pistachios, green onions and black pepper
  • Fold 2 tortillas in half and layer 1/4 of cheese and 1/4 of spinach leaves on the bottom, then add 1/4 of cranberry/pistachio mix ontop
  • Fold the top over, then lay them side by side in a greased frying pan and cook over medium heat on both sides for about 4 minutes each, or until golden brown

005-55

About Lisa

*Lisa is the founder and personal chef of The Vegan Pact and blogger at TheVeganPact.com. Her passion for vegan food is shown through her daily recipe blog, private meal deliveries and cooking classes in the Boston area.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

