Daily Archives: May 31, 2011

Apple Rhubarb Vegan Pancakes

Standard

My Memorial Day weekend led me to a massive farmer’s market in southern Vermont, where I fell in love with all the cheap produce they had in abundance.  I noticed that virtually every vendor was overflowing with fresh organic rhubarb, so I absolutely had to get a bunch.  These vegan pancakes are delicious and guilt free, so I I didn’t feel bad about going for second helpings 🙂

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

1 ¼ cups coconut milk

3 1/3 tsp baking powder

¼ cup flaxseed “egg”

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp sea salt

1 apple, sliced

2/3 cup rhubarb, chopped

½ cup walnuts, chopped

  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well
  • Pour batter over a greased skillet on medium heat, until both sides are golden brown, about 5 minutes