Apple Cheddar & Red Onion Pizza

Standard

Tastes like childhood.  Literally.

I’ve been nostalgic for foods that I loved when I was growing up.  Not the KFC, or the Happy Meals or the sugar loaded dairy nightmares I got from the ice cream truck.  But cravings for things like my mom’s apple cheddar pizza have definitely been on my mind, and I needed to get them on my plate!

The story with these seemingly strange pizzas, stems from a recipe they gave us in kindergarten (I think.  I’m sure my mom will correct me on the time frame).  She used to roll out crescent Pillsbury rolls, top them with cinnamon and sugar drenched apples and sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top.  I don’t know why I found them so enjoyable, but I could eat an entire batch in one sitting if mom had let me (she never allowed that though).  I changed a few things in this recipe -no sugar and I nixed the Pillsbury dough boy-and it was just as delicious as I remembered.  Mom would be so proud.

1 batch whole wheat honey pizza dough

1 1/2 red apples, sliced (I used Pink Lady and Gala)

3/4 cup red onion, sliced

3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

Parsley leaves for garnish

Pinch sea salt

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Toss apple slices, onion, cinnamon, cider vinegar and salt together in a bowl
  • Layer on top of stretched out pizza dough and top with cheese
  • Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes

         

About Lisa

*Lisa is the founder and personal chef of The Vegan Pact and blogger at TheVeganPact.com. Her passion for vegan food is shown through her daily recipe blog, private meal deliveries and cooking classes in the Boston area.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Apple & Arugula Quesadillas « The Vegan Pact

Leave a comment